The College Arts is one of the first colleges that were established in the University of Bahrain. The late Amir His Highness Shaikh Isa bin Salman Al Khalifa issued in May 24, 1986 the Emiri Decree (No. 12 of 1986) establishing the University of Bahrain by merging the Gulf College of Technology established in 1968, with the University College of Science, Arts and Education, established in 1978. Following the founding of the university, four colleges were established: College of Arts and Sciences, College of Education, College of Business Administration and College of Engineering. In May 1990, the Board of Trustees of the University issued a decision that divided the College of Arts and Science to two separate colleges, and thus the university comprised five colleges: College of Arts and Sciences, College of Engineering, College of Education and College of Business Administration. Later, the College of Law , the College of Applied Science and most recently Teachers' College were added to the University .

The College contains five departments: Arabic and Islamic Studies, Social Sciences, Psychology, Communication, Tourism and Arts, and English Language and Literature. In 2016, the Center of Fine Arts and Heritage was joined under the umbrella of the College while all language centers were consolidated under the Center of Languages which is subsumed under the President’s Office.

The College offers 14 academic programs, six of which are postgraduate programs. The College also plans to offer two doctoral programs in Media and Psychology in the near future.