The College of Engineering at the University of Bahrain owes its roots to the Gulf Technical College, which was established in 1968 and later became the Gulf Polytechnic in February 1981 and consisted of the Colleges of Engineering and Business Administration. In 1986, the Amiri Decree No.(12) was issued to establish the University of Bahrain by a merger of the Gulf Polytechnic and the Bahrain University College. Since then, the college continued to grow in the numbers of programs and students; currently around 4200 students (2015-2016), coming from diverse nationalities and ethnicities, study at the college.

The College of Engineering consists of five departments, namely, Architecture and Interior Design, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical and Electronics Engineering and Mechanical Engineering. All departments are located in Isa Town campus but plans are set to relocate them to the Sakhir Campus by 2018.

Eight BSc programs are offered by the college, namely, Architecture, Interior Design, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronics Engineering and Process Instrumentation and Control Engineering. The College also offers MSc and PhD programs in Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Management.

Six of our BSc programs are accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET (http://www.abet.org), namely, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronics Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Process Instrumentation and Control Engineering. The Architecture program achieved a substantial equivalency by NAAB (http://www.naab.org/) and the Interior Design program is preparing for accreditation by CIDA (http://www.accredit-id.org/).

يعود تاريخ كلية الهندسة بجامعة البحرين إلى عام 1968م عندما أنشأت كلية الخليج التقنية، والتي أعيد تنظيمها بموجب المرسوم الأميري رقم 2 والصادر بتاريخ 18 فبراير 1981م لتصبح كلية الخليج للتكنولوجيا. و بموجب المرسوم الأميري رقم 12 لسنة 1986م تم دمج كلية الخليج للتكنولوجيا مع الكلية الجامعية للعلوم والآداب والتربية لتتشكل بذلك جامعة البحرين وتصبح كلية الهندسة واحدة من كبرى كلياتها من حيث اعداد البرامج المطروحة والطلاب. وفي العام الاكاديمي 2015-2016 بلغ عدد طلاب الكلية 4200 طالب ينتمون لثقافات وجنسيات عديدة.

تتكون حاليا الكلية من خمسة اقسام هي العمارة التصميم الداخلي وقسم الهندسة الكهربائية والإلكترونية وقسم الهندسة الكيميائية وقسم الهندسة المدنية وقسم الهندسة الميكانيكية. وتقع جميعها في فرع الجامعة في مدينة عيسى. كما يجري العمل على نقل جميع هذه الاقسام الى مقر الجامعة في الصخير بحلول عام 2018م.

تقدم الكلية شهادة البكالويوس في تخصصات الهندسة المدنية و الهندسة الميكانيكية و الهندسة الكهربائية و الهندسة الإلكترونية و الهندسة الكيميائية و هندسة الأجهزة الدقيقة و التحكم و البكالوريوس في العمارة و البكالويوس في التصميم الداخلي بالإضافة إلى ذلك فإن الكلية تقدم شهادة الماجستير والدكتوراه في كل من الهندسة الميكانيكية و المدنية و الكهربائية و الإدارة الهندسية.

وقد حصلت ستة من برامج الكلية على الاعتمادية الأكاديمية الكاملة (accreditation) من مؤسسة الاعتمادية ABET (http://www.abet.org), وهي برامج البكالوريوس في الهندسة الكيميائية و الهندسة الميكانيكية و الهندسة المدنية و الهندسة الكهربائية و الهندسة الإلكترونية و هندسة الأجهزة الدقيقة و التحكم. كما حصل برنامج البكالوريوس في العمارة على الاعتمادية الأكاديمية (substantial equivalency) من مؤسسة NAAB (http://www.naab.org/). كما تستعد الكلية لتقييم برنامج التصميم الداخلي من مؤسسة (http://www.accredit-id.org/) CIDA.