His Highness Shaikh Isa bin Salman Al Khalifa

Late Amir of Bahrain


His Majesty the King Shaikh Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa

The King of Bahrain

His Royal Highness Prince Salman bin Hamad Al Khalifa

The Crown Prince and Prime Minister


The wise leadership of the Kingdom of Bahrain has always been the spark behind all the accomplishments of the University of Bahrain, and all the developments that this national institute has undergone, ever since the royal decrees that established the colleges, to the royal decree that established the University, all in addition to the generous support and exalted status the university enjoys in the present and future national setting within the Vision of Bahrain 2030.
The University of Bahrain is proud that His Majesty King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa, the beloved King of the country, is the honorary president of the University, and that this university and all its achievements are blessed with His Majesty’s trust. The University also draws upon the directives of His Royal Highness Prince Salman bin Hamad Al Khalifa, the Crown Prince and Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Bahrain, and it takes pride in the support it enjoys from His Royal Highness.


The Board of Trustees shall be formed with the Minister of Education as the Chairman, in addition to a number of members, including the President of the University, not exceeding twelve members, in whom competence, experience and scientific profile are required.

A royal decree shall be promulgated to form the University’s Board of Trustees based on the proposal of the Minister of Education, provided that the term of the council shall be four years, subject to renewal.

The Board of Trustees shall be in charge of the University’s public policy-making, supervising how work is done in it and its various colleges and units, taking the necessary decisions and procedures to achieve that, and shall do the following in particular: approve the public policy for education and scientific research at the University, approve financial, administrative and technical regulations, approve the University budget and the balance sheet, establish rules for investing and managing University funds, approving agreements in which the University is a party, creating vice-presidents positions according to the recommendations of the University Council, accepting grants, donations, contributions, wills, and endowments received by the University from outside the Kingdom of Bahrain, approving University fees, and establishing new colleges and institutes affiliated with the University, as well as abolishing, merging, or reorganizing them.

H.E. Dr. Majid bin Ali Al Nuaimi

Minister of Education

Chairman of the Board of Trustees

H.E. Shaikh Salman bin Khalifa Al-Khalifa

Minister of Finance and National Economy

H.E. Mr. Jamil bin Mohammed Ali Humaidan

Minister of Labour and  Social Development

H.E. Mrs Faeqa bint Said Al Saleh

Minister of Health

H.E. Mr. Ayman Tawfeeq Al Moayyed

Minister of Youth and Sports Affairs

H.E. Mr. Ahmed bin Zayed Al-Zayed

President of the Civil Service Bureau (CSB)

Dr. Jawaher Shaheen Al Mudhahki

President of the University of Bahrain

H.E. Mrs. Noof Abdulrahman Jamsheer

Chief Executive Officer of Urban Planning

Ministry of Works, Municipalities Affairs and Urban Planning

H.E. Dr. Mohamed Mubarak Juma

Undersecretary of the Ministry of Education for Resources and Services

Ministry of Education

H.E. Dr. Mona Mohammed Al Balooshi

Assistant Secretary General for Evaluation and Reliability of the General Secretariat of the Council of Higher Education

H.E. Shaikha Tiflah bint Mohammed Al Khalifa

H.E. Dr. Mansour Mohammed Sarhan


The University Council is the executive authority which helps the university’s president to effectively manage the academic and administrative affairs as well as propose and amend the university regulations and pass them on to the Board of Trustees for approval. Approving study plans, granting scholarships and contracting with teaching personnel are also carried out by the Council.

The council consists of the president of the university (chairman), the vice-presidents and deans as members, and a maximum of three other external experts appointed by the Board of Trustees for three years for a one-time renewable term.

Dr. Jawaher Shaheen Al Mudhahki
University of Bahrain President

Dr. Haya Ali Al-Naimi

Vice President for Planning and Development

Dr. Mohammed Saleh Al-Ansari

Vice President for Community Service and Alumni Affairs – Acting Dean of Admission and Registration Affairs

Dr. Mohamed Abdulla Baqer

Acting Vice President for Information Technology, Administration and Finance – Dean of College of Applied Studies

Dr. Abdul Aziz Mohammed Bulela

Dean of College of Arts

Prof. Hatem Bin Mahmood Masri

Dean of College of Business Administration

Dr. Fuad Mohammed Al-Ansari

Dean of College of Engineering

Prof. Mohammed Mustafa Alhelo

Dean of College of Science & Acting Dean of College of Health and Sport Sciences

Dr. Salah Mohammed Ahmed

Acting Dean of College of Law

Dr. Lamya Mohammed Al-Jassmi

Dean of College Of Information Technology

Dr. Ted Purinton

Dean of Bahrain Teachers College

Dr. Mohammed Reda Qader

Dean of Research and Graduate Studies

Dr. Fatema Mohamed AlMalki

Dean of Students Affairs

Dr. Bassim Mohammed AL Sharji

General Secretary of the University Council